Monday: Crew Change Day

I wish to share some of my shots I took this morning during our regular crew change day. Our usual “taxi” is a Superpuma L22 helicopter.

Approaching from Southwest

Landing on the helideck

 Disembarking

This is the Chopper Pilot waving “Hello” when he saw me aiming the camera at him.

Backloading

Taking off

Up and away

Done! This is one of my crew signalling the completion of another safe crew change operation.

I took at least 100 shots while fiddling with different camera settings from full manual to aperture and shutter priority. The white balance was set at AWB and I was switching the ISO between 50 and 100. The above photos are the ones that looks good based on my judgement. I will highly appreciate if you can find time to critique my photographs and give me some suggestions on how to improve my photography skills. Cheers! 🙂

8 thoughts on “Monday: Crew Change Day

  1. As I myself have not yet read the manual to my camera, I cannot tell you how to improve…with me, I do the same thing and hope for the best, I see you have captured all of them at their best….very interesting to see such things and to read your commentary is also very interesting! Keep up the good work…practice makes perfect!! Great photo’s in my opinion!!

  2. I don’t think you can expect much more with these lighting conditions… photography is all about the quality of light and considering the time of the day I’m judging that you shot this around noon! Well done but try to shoot when the sun is not as bright and watch the magic happen 🙂

    • Hi Mate, thanks for your comment. The shots were taken just before 9 in the morning. It’s really difficult to get a good shot when the sun is almost on meridian passage. I’ll try next time around when the sun is not as bright. Cheers! 🙂

What do you think of this post? Comments might encourage me to post more often ;)

