HDR Painting

I wish to share some of the shots I took yesterday using the picture effect on my camera.

It is called HDR painting which can be set to low, mid and high. This effect is only suitable when shooting jpeg where in-camera processing is applied. You might wonder how it works? Well, the camera releases the shutter 3 times and merge the shot into a single image. It then enhances the colors and details to create the look of a painting.

These shots are pretty much SOOC (straight out of camera) besides downsampling and watermarking in Lightroom.

Let me know what you think of this camera effect. Is it worth shooting this way or stick to RAW then spend time on the computer for post-processing?

I’ll be experimenting on some other effects such as miniature, partial color, pop color, retro, posterization and etc. There’s so much more that I haven’t really explored yet so stay tuned. For now I’ll go back to reading the camera instructions manual 🙂

Have a nice day and thanks for dropping by! Cheers! 🙂

12 thoughts on “HDR Painting

    • Hello Suzanne! I truly appreciate your encouraging comment! I am able to access your website now but for some reason I still can’t click like nor post a comment, I am diverted into a security check site. Anyway, I’d like to let you know that your posts inspires me always. Keep up your inspiring blog. Have a nice day my friend. Cheers! 🙂

  1. I would do the post processing after on a computer… the 3rd & 5th image are great… the other ones, I feel that the edges are way to sharp… you can almost see a halo around the guy leaning on the deck.
    Don’t get me wrong, they’re not bad at all… but I think you would’ve had better results doing the post-processing outside the camera.
    my 2 cents 🙂

    • Many thanks Mate for critiquing my photos which I highly appreciate. You’re correct that the other shots seemed over sharpen perhaps because I set it on high. The halo may have been caused by the camera shake since all were handheld shots. I was just experimenting and of course I am hoping someday that I can create perfect HDRs such as yours through post-processing. Thank you very much indeed and keep inspiring me with your amazing photos. Cheers! 🙂

  2. Hello! capt! excellent photos! although i know nothing about photography. I think the shots look mighty fine! Hope you catch some UFOs’ or a giant squid and stuff like that out in water! kudos! 🙂

    • Howdy Sir Pat! I’m really thrilled that you dropped by my blog and posted your very encouraging comment. Although your request may be a bit hard to find, but I’ll shoot them for you if and when they come around my way 🙂
      Many thanks. Cheers Bro! 🙂

What do you think of this post? Comments might encourage me to post more often ;)

