The Arena

In the old days, an Arena is the main entertainment hub of people from all walks of life. I am not that old to have experienced that of course, but thanks to the movies like Ben Hur and Gladiator  that gave me a chance to have a glimpse of how people were entertained back then.

Nowadays, people are still entertained in the Arena despite of other portable equipment available like home theater systems and personal computers. The photo below is of the newly built Arena at the SM Mall of Asia in the Philippines with a full capacity of 20,000 persons. It opened to the public last 21st May 2012 for the “Born This Way” concert of 5-time Grammy Award Winner “Lady Gaga“. I have nothing against her but I’m not a big fan of her kind of music. Moreover, I’m not keen on spending Php 15,000 ( U$ 360 approx) for a concert ticket. 🙂

Anyway, I had the chance to take the photo of this Arena just last week. It was a Sunday and the parking building was full that I was able to find a vacant slot only on the 5th floor. While waiting for the lift/elevator, I chanced upon this view and took a shot with my camera. The first few shots were a bit dull because the glare of the sun was too much. I tried the auto-HDR setting where three shots with different exposures are merged and this is what I got. It’s not a brilliant shot but I think it’s good enough for a handheld HDR. What do you think?

 

4 thoughts on “The Arena

  1. although i’ve been to sm moa a lot of times, i still haven’t seen the inside of the arena.. having watched the tears for fears concert at araneta, i wish it was held at the arena.. anyway, thanks for sharing the photo, it looks magnificent resembling a big eye..

    • Thank you for your comment and liking my photo. I have not been inside the Arena myself. I’ll blog about it when I do in future so stay tuned 🙂
      Araneta, yes I’ve been there many times. I think the last time I was there was during the China Circus.

What do you think of this post? Comments might encourage me to post more often ;)

